Matthew Q. Tompkins

Matthew Q. Tompkins

Matthew Q. Tompkins


Matthew Q. Tompkins received his Bachelor of Arts in 1995 from Huntington College and his Juris Doctor from The University of Alabama School of Law in 1999.  While studying for his J.D., Mr. Tompkins was a member of the Order of the Barristers, Bench and Bar Legal Honor Society, and the Farrah Law Society. He served as Chairman of the John A. Campbell Moot Court Board and was a recipient of the Jerome Hoffman Student Leadership Award.  He was admitted to the Alabama State Bar in 1999 and the Mississippi State Bar in 2004. He is admitted to practice before Alabama’s U.S. District Courts in the Northern, Middle and Southern Districts, and Mississippi’s U.S. District Courts in the Northern and Southern Districts, as well as the 5th Circuit Court of Appeals.

Mr. Tompkins serves on the Facilities Committee of the Tuscaloosa County Parks and Recreational Board of Directors, the Board of Directors of the Black Warrior Council of The Boy Scouts of America, the Board of Directors of Hospice of West Alabama, and the Board of Directors of Freedom Farm, Inc.

Mr. Tompkins’ practice is focused on real estate and business transactions and providing general counsel services to local and regional financial, real estate development, health care, and construction firms. He represents clients in all stages of real estate transactions, including counseling individuals buying residential properties, investors developing property for commercial purposes, and lenders and real estate agents regarding loan transactions and closings. He frequently leads seminars for real estate professionals regarding all aspects of residential and commercial real estate transactions, including continuing education instruction for licensed real estate agents.

Community Involvement

Tuscaloosa Parks and Recreation, Facilities Committee, Board of Directors

Black Warrior Council of The Boy Scouts of America, Board of Directors

Hospice of West Alabama, Board of Directors

Freedom Farm, Inc., Board of Directors